Assignment #2: Personality & Environment

Gordon12

Gordon Tweit, 87, gave up his pharmaceutical license this year after working for Fairhaven Pharmacy for 61 years. “A pharmacist wasn’t just a pharmacist, it was just one of his chores,” Tweit said.

This week I had the pleasure to meet Gordon Tweit.

Gordon5

After 61 years of being a pharmacist at the Fairhaven Pharmacy, Gordon Tweit, 87, gave up his license this year. Tweit began working at the pharmacy as a delivery boy because his friend was working there. After graduation, Tweit and seven friends went into the Navy. “It was a great experience, I never felt bad about it. I felt you learned how to say ‘yes sir’ and ‘no sir’ and when to do something and not to do something,” Tweit said. “I feel everyone needs to learn that.” When he got back from the Navy in 1948, Tweit had to decide whether to become a math teacher or a pharmacist. After four years he received his degree. At that time, Farihaven Pharmacy didn’t need him, but after working 6 months in Everett, Wash. he came back to Bellingham had has been working at Fairhaven Pharmacy since.

Gordon2

“A pharmacist wasn’t just a pharmacist, that was just one of his chores,” Tweit said as he talked about the changes he’s seen in pharmaceutical practice.

One of the biggest changes was chain stores, Tweit said. “When the chain stores came in that put us in a real bind because up to that time this basement was full of merchandise that we would order directly from the company and that was all gone.”

Gordon3

These days that basement is anything but empty. It holds all of Tweit’s old artifacts and pharmaceutical supplies.

“It’s not a business. I don’t advertise, I don’t pay a license fee. I just let people see it who want to see it.”

By sharing his posessions with people, Tweit is sharing his life.

“Like I said, answering questions for all the people about everything, not particularly pharmacy. I tend to stay away from that now, because I don’t feel like I should be doing that.”

Gordon8

